top of page

Coach Ken Niumatalolo Named 2020 Stallings Award Recipient

The Stallings Award has named Navy Coach Ken Niumatalolo as the 2020 Stallings Award Recipient.

The Stallings Award is awarded annually to an FBS head football coach who is an exceptional humanitarian and coach. Coach Niumatalolo was selected as the recipient of The Stallings Award for his dedication to his community of Annapolis, Maryland, and his stance towards coaching strong men on and off the field.

This year Niumatalolo accepted the role of Stake President of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints Churches in the Annapolis area. In this role he oversees all of the churches in the area.

North Carolina head coach Mack Brown, the first Stallings Award recipient, says, “Ken is a great coach and better man. Plus, he wins, but gives so much back. My life is better because I call him my friend.”

On the field, Niumatalolo has led Navy to a 10-2 record and a 7-1 mark in the American Athletic Conference West Division, sharing the division title with Memphis.

Niumatalolo, Navy’s all-time winningest coach with 97career victories, would lead Navy to a school-record tying 11 wins this year with a win against Kansas State in the AutoZone Liberty Bowl.

A unique aspect of the award is that each winner is selected by the past recipients. Who better to know about what it takes to simultaneously build a winning football program, build young men and to make a positive impact on their community.

The Stallings Award is now in it’s 9th year of honoring a college head football coach for their contributions in their community, and achievements on the field.

Past recipients of the award include: Mack Brown (Texas, 2011-12), Mark Richt (Georgia, 2012-13), David Cutcliffe (Duke, 2013-14), Dabo Swinney (Clemson, 2014-15), Mark Dantonio (Michigan State, 2015-16), Chris Petersen (Washington, 2016-17), Gary Patterson (TCU, 2017-18) and Brian Kelly (Notre Dame, 2018-19).

Coach Niumatalolo will be honored at the annual Stallings Award dinner in May at the Dallas Country Club.

bottom of page