top of page

Brian Kelly Named 2019 Stallings Award Recipient

Updated: Oct 17, 2019

University of Notre Dame Head Coach Brian Kelly has been named the recipient of the 2019 Stallings Award. This unique award is presented annually to an exceptional NCAA Division I college head football coach in recognition of humanitarian contributions in addition to achievements on the field. The Stallings Award recognizes Coach Kelly as the recipient of the 2019 award winner as Notre Dame finishes the regular season 12-0, ranked no. 3 with a birth in the College Football Playoffs all while his foundation, The Kelly Cares Foundation, celebrates ten years. 

Since 2008, Coach Kelly and his wife Paqui, a two time breast cancer survivor, have raised and donated more than $4.6 million to causes locally, nationally and globally through their Kelly Cares Foundation. The Kelly Cares Foundation was established with the objective of supporting organizations, initiatives and programs that closely align with the goals and values of the Kelly family. The Foundation strengthens  communities and inspires hope by investing resources to improve education and health. 

Notable organizations that have received contributions from the Kelly Cares foundation include The Breast Cancer Research Foundation, Ronald McDonald House Charities, Memorial Children’s Hospital, the YMCA, and the Boys and Girls Club. Coach Kelly and his wife personally gifted $250,000 to the University of Notre Dame to support cancer research, academia and community engagement. 

In 2014, Saint Joseph Health System announced the creation of the Paqui and Brian Kelly Comprehensive Breast Center (CBC). The center offers a team of dedicated professional and state-of-the-art services, all of which was advanced by a monetary gift from the Kelly Cares Foundation. In 2016, The Kelly Cares Foundation donated $100,000 to Ronald McDonald House Charities of Michiana for a new 20-bedroom home for seriously ill and injured children. 

On the field, Coach Kelly holds an overall 231-90-2 record as a head coach. He is currently the head coach at the University of Notre Dame, a position he has held since December of 2009. The team finished the 2018 season with a 12-0 record, ranked no. 3 in the nation. Notre Dame will play in the College Football Playoffs for the first time. Other notable awards Coach Kelly has received:- Two-time Home Depot Coach of the Year Award (2009, 2012) - Two-time AFCA Division II Coach of the Year (2002, 2003) - Three-time Big East Coach of the Year (2007-2009) - AP College Football Coach of the Year (2012) - Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year (2012) - SN Coach of the Year (2012) - Walter Camp Coach of the Year (2012) 

Coach Kelly and his wife Paqui will be honored at the annual Stallings Award dinner in May 2019 at the Dallas Country Club (Dallas, Texas). 

The Stallings Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. 

In addition to the 2019 Stallings Award announcement, Tom Landis of Howdy Homemade is announced as the recipient of the 2019 Johnny Stallings Award. Landis is being recognized for his work with adults living with intellectual disabilities. 

For more information visit


bottom of page